Sicily Day 2: Discovering Taormina

Taormina was a 20 min bus ride away from us. It was recommended that we go either before 11am or after 3pm, because in between, the half-hourly bus would be so full that it would just drive past.

I had read in advance that Taormina is a shopper`s dream or nightmare, and I must admit that I wanted to buy at least 10 dresses at dizzying prices (and therefore treated myself to just one, which fully consists of midnight blue lace). I still don`t know when to possibly wear this, but I`ll sure find an occasion for it! (as Truth of the Matter was once again: I found the Italian women incredibly well dressed, but on second thought, I had to admit that almost none of their outfits would be suitable for me to wear at home without getting weird looks, as in Britain, I would just stand out too much.)

imageimage

Me, posing on the piazza (from here, you could see Mount Etna, which I will show in my next post):

imageimageimage

Of course, the G7 Meeting had taken place here just 2 weeks prior to our arrival, and we still saw some of the remnants:

image

Prettier things in other corners:

imageimage

A nice break in a wonderful beer garden, were “proper” seats were rare and nibbles complimentary:

imageimage

And no, no amphitheatre for us. But been told it`s worth it.

One thought on “Sicily Day 2: Discovering Taormina

Leave a Reply

