I just Sold my First Photograph!!

imageimageYes – indeed: about a year or so after I started to really get into my photography (and sporadically publish them in various places online), someone has now paid money to get a license for my … smartphone photo of jellybeans…

Right now, I`m feeling really proud and accomplished, and I don`t care that I`m only getting a tiny cut, but the sheer fact that someone just paid at least £50.oo for my photo, my creativity, my… artwork, feels just amazing!!

17264837_10154498338511235_4494953283047923742_n

I remember the story of that picture well.

I took it during my first face-to-face tutorial with the Open University, which took place in a hotel near Haymarket Train Station in Edinburgh last February. On our tables were, besides pen, paper and water, jelly beans. The young latecomer who sat beside me laughed as, before even eating a single one of them, I grabbed my smartphone (a Samsung Galaxy S 6 Edge) and photographed them from all angles. That`s when she decided she needed to get to know me, because she likes wacky people. We ended up going to the bus together, and on the journey home, I applied various filters to the best pic and uploaded it to both Instagram and EyeEm.

It was in May when I got an automated email from EyeEm saying that the photo had been selected for their Premium Collection, to be put up for sale on Getty Images. At the time, me and another friend were researching opportunities for selling photos online, and I found that most of those rather “big” sites have rather strict guidelines regarding quality. I never found mine on their site, and then forgot about it, although looked again a few months later, and it was there, beside two photos of my Siamese cat. (In fact, I had 8 pictures altogether selected for Premium Collection, but only those three published).

Anyway, on Tuesday, I got an email saying I sold it!!

The same night, I went to the birthday party of my wonderful Greek friend Mary, who sat beside me when I took the photograph! And she remembers it well, as it was the day we met and the reason she wanted to get to know me.

Aw, I`m happy, and dying to know who bought it and what for…

13 thoughts on “I just Sold my First Photograph!!

    • culbia says:

      I put them on EyeEm, and mostly for pleasure rather than money. There is a vast amount of platforms available online if you`re looking to sell, and we actually abandoned the search for now, as its so overwhelming. But there are a lot of platforms where putting them up is for free – you can forget about them once done, but you cannot expect to earn big bucks. My photo sold for a minimum of £50, and i got $2.09.

      Liked by 1 person

        • culbia says:

          Do try – its for free on a great many platforms. And if you sell a lot you can still move on to a platform which pays you more (although you may pay a fee). I even considered self hosting, but I dont have time to do my own marketing, never mind money to employ someone…

          Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      Ich weiss. Die kleinste Groesse kostete den Kaeufer £50.00 und ich bekomme $2.09. EyeEm nimmt 50%, das heisst sie kriegen $4.18 davon. Aber darum geht es mir nicht. Ich wollte gar kein Geld verdienen, sondern will einfach nur gucken wie das Bild ankommt. Aber dass jemand mindestens £50.00 fuer mein total ungestyltes Smartphone-Photos von Jellybeans bezahlt, das verkrafte ich echt nicht. Das hat da einfach gestanden, ich hab das nicht gestyled, belichtet, einfach geknipst und hinterher mit diversen Filtern editidert.Also jetzt im Moment fuehle ich mich wie eine richtig coole Sau 😀

      Like

      • Wendy says:

        Hihi – dann darfst Du Deinen Gewinn natürlich “sinnlos verprassen” – vielleicht investierst Du ihn in eine neue Tüte Jellybeans 😉
        Ich kann Dir aber sagen, daß Dein Fotokurs und Deine Übung Deine Bilder erheblich verbessert hat (OMG – ich hoffe das klingt jetzt nicht gönnerhaft – so ist es nämlich absolut nicht gemeint!). Ich sehe Deine Fotos ja nun über einen längeren Zeitraum und Du hast ein viel besseres Auge für Bildaufbau, Farben und Stimmungen in den Bildern, die Du hier postest. Ich wollte das schon vor ner Weile mal schreiben – ist mir dann aber doch entfallen – aber das ist jetzt ja die perfekte Gelegenheit! Ich würde unbedingt in Sachen Fotokurs weitermachen!

        Like

        • culbia says:

          Oh – dankeschoen ! 🙂 Viel hab ich von dem Kurs leider gar nicht mitgenommen, denn das technische wurde alles auf einer Canon gelehrt. Zu meiner Nikon D5500 hab ich daraufhin ein Buch gekauft – und noch nicht einmal reingeguckt. Es kam halt dann der Vollzeitjob, und zwei Unimodule, da hab ich leider nicht mehr so viel Zeit fuer sowas. Letztes Jahr hab ich echt viel mit Fotografie gemacht und insbesondere in eine “richtige” Kamera investiert. Ich war immer zufrieden mit meinen Smartphonephotos, aber ganz ehrlich – man sieht schon den Unterschied, besonders in schlechten Lichtverhaeltnissen. Ich lass mich gern belehren, und natuerlich auch gerne loben – in diesem Sinne: Danke 🙂

          Like

    • culbia says:

      Dollar, liebe Bellona, zwei Dollar – das ist noch was weniger. Ist schon mickrig, aber ich seh das so – ohne diese Platform haette es sich ueberhaupt nicht verkauft, weil ich haette es (zumindest zum Verkaufen) wonirgends eingestellt. Und wenn ich irgendwann staendig Bilder fuer $2.oo verkaufe, dann wuerde ich mir ueberlegen, sie selber zu vermarkten und alles Geld fuer mich zu behalten. Es ist okay – ich freu mich dass es tatsaechlich eine Person gab die £50.oo dafuer bezahlt hat – egal jetzt an wen 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

