Lisbon 26-28 February 2017 – Part I

Yes, it`s totally worth going for only two days. With the inbound flight landing at 10.35am and the outbound flight leaving at 3pm, you`ll get a full 48 hours of fun. There`s a metro station right next to the airport, and we arrived in Chiado/Bairro Alto just about mid day, where we easily found our Air B&B accommodation within less than 10 minutes walk.

photo-26-02-2017-11-30-07

Ascensor da Bica – one of the most featured items in town, but I find it easy to see why…

photo-26-02-2017-12-45-20

Half way down, where you see the black and white cars, there is a little square and Bar Bica, where we enjoyed those drinks and the risotto featured on my twitter page.

I was surprised to see signs of carnival, which is really important at home (Rhineland in Germany) but so non existent where I live now (Scotland) that I almost forget about it.

photo-26-02-2017-12-40-57

First walk, rather refreshed with a glass of Sangria inside. The sky isn`t quite as blue as it was the last few times (November was like a Scottish summer!!), but we still discover charming little things which we don`t remember seeing before:

photo-26-02-2017-13-17-44-2photo-26-02-2017-15-19-43photo-26-02-2017-15-21-01

Other things are rather comfortingly familiar and didn`t have my lense on them for the first time, but those are the sights for which I love this city so much…

photo-26-02-2017-14-49-50photo-26-02-2017-14-49-34

photo-26-02-2017-15-26-31photo-26-02-2017-15-25-17

 

photo-26-02-2017-16-32-25photo-26-02-2017-15-30-31photo-26-02-2017-16-15-31

photo-26-02-2017-15-24-46

To me, the whole place is a piece of art which never ceases to inspire me!

Just walking through this beautiful place and observing its people and their homes, I could even formulate the answer to one of the most annoying comments I received in a while (which left me speechless at the time), but needless to say, the topic was never revisited, which left me ever so slightly frustrated :-/

The quiet little square in the Alfama where we stayed for our first three visits. I always feel a bit sad when I go there, thinking I should still be looking out to that from my window, but prices for accommodation vary, and those places were just too expensive.  There always seem to be more cats than people on this square, and the maire has built them little hutches to encourage them to stay and keep the rats away. I`m sure I photographed this guy before:

photo-26-02-2017-15-38-18

My latest thing is videoing, but please bear with the beginner…

6 thoughts on “Lisbon 26-28 February 2017 – Part I

  1. blogbellona says:

    richtig tolle fotos! alle mit dem iphone?

    wenn ich das so sehe, kriege ich auf einmal doch wieder richtig lust auf lissabon. ich glaube, mtm und ich brauchen einen “zweiten anlauf”. bisher hab ich mit lissabon immer sofort die frühschwangerschaft und die übelkeit verbunden. schön fand ich es natürlich, aber ich konnte es nicht richtig genießen. und jetzt plötzlich, hier in deinem blog, ist das alles nicht mehr so vordergründig in den erinnerungen. ich glaub, wir müssen uns wirklich mal eine auszeit gönnen und dort nochmal hin. MIT weintrinken, MIT tollen nächten, MIT tollem essen von dem mir nicht mehr schlecht wird. 😉

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Danke – die mit dem roten Schild sind glaube ich von der Kamera, die sind mit dem Iphone nichts geworden. Das Wetter war nicht ganz soooo doll. Das Iphone ist super bei gutem Licht, aber wenn nicht… dann ist es halt immer noch gut, wenn man die Kamera dabei hat. Das “Chrome” setting hab ich sehr gerne, da wirkt alles sofort frischer.

      Ja, das kann ich verstehen dass eine solche Erfahrung von den schoenen Erfahrungen ablenkt und eventuell eine ganze Urlaubserinnerung vermiest. Gebt dieser tollen Stadt ruhig mal eine zweite Chance… Das Essen ist eins ihrer Highlights…

      Like

Leave a Reply

