about new shoes

My brown boots are getting worn, so I bought myself a new pair. I`m still not taking this for granted. I`ve also got a pair of tan boots, two pairs of black, one grey and one blue.

When I was still financially dependent on my parents, I had one pair, and there was no point in mentioning if they started looking shabby. If a hole appeared, or if the sole came of, I`d be careful not to wear them in the rain, but I still had to wear them for I didn`t have any others. Pumps. If it rained I`d just wear summer shoes so my feet didn`t get wet, even if it was February. Or my trainers, which were meant to be for PE only. If I wore those outside I could not let my mum catch me under any circumstances, for this was much worse than summer shoes in February or boots with the soles coming off.

I remember a horrible story from school in which I was slow getting dressed after PE and I had to run in my trainers to catch the bus. Back home, I noticed that I forgot my shoes, which were my only ones. The next morning, I went to the school secretary, and she said yes, they were found, but the cleaner has binned them because they are broken. She thought they were maybe left intentionally. I started to cry and said they are the only ones I`ve got, and I`ll not be getting new ones just because I`ve lost them. Miraculously, my plastic bag appeared from underneath her desk with my shoes inside. I can`t remember whether I was more grateful or more embarrassed, and I have no idea whether anyone has contacted my parents and what they would have said. It was a rather wealthy kids` school, and this was because we couldn`t afford the bus fare to go to the more mainstream one either.

When I started to earn my own money, I vowed never to wear old shoes again in my whole life, and I hope I`ll never have to.

Funnily enough, people who know me now think I look expensive. Because I moved to a new country, they don`t know how I grew up.

7 thoughts on “about new shoes

  1. Charis says:

    Oh, dear, what a terrible story – really reminds me on the poor Irish people, they tell similar from their own youth … 😦
    Nevertheless {correct?} nowadays the kids demand new shoes in avery age AND every price level – consumption pure … :/
    Hope you’ve got the right ones {or two pairs} now … 😉

    Like

    • culbia says:

      You`re right, “Angela`s Ashes”/”Die Asche meiner Mutter” described this kind of poverty, did it not?

      Those kids` demands, and also their parents giving in, sometimes make me scream inside. I however think as a birthday gift, this is okay. Shoes should not really be a gift but a given, but if kids want something branded and expensive, I think parents are right to buy it as a gift, e.g. instead of something else.

      Like

  2. Charis says:

    But – I’m the proud owner of 6 pairs of shoes – not only the price is important … 😉
    The STYLE {you certainly know what I’m talking of} is the most relevant thing! Of course I accept Lady’s special shoes but then you {they} have to walk with them … 🙄
    O.k. this may have to do with the age of puberty in case of girls – o.k. accepted!
    For my own use I like sneakers as well as athletic shoes and in summer naturally sandals 😉

    Like

  3. nebelpferd says:

    yes, what was the reason that no one contacted our parents? i had a classmate who had been beaten by her parents with a belt, the teacher knew that and did nothing. it stopped when she told her parents one day that the next time she would go to the police… i am sure our parents would have said that you had WANTED this shoes because old shoes are comfortable – you have 3 pairs more in your cupboard but you would never wear them. they would never have told the schools that they had no money or that they would not spend it in their children unless they both had a full-time-job.

    Like

  4. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    This is a really sad story. I can see why your past would have a big impact on your financial decisions in your future. Saving money is very important, but necessities come first!

    Like

Leave a Reply

