About Salary Transparency in Britain

I`m from Germany, so for the first 26 years of my life, I`ve been living in a country where one`s salary is one`s best kept secret only to be disclosed to one`s bank and spouse (no, probably not even fiancee).

I used to negotiate my pay every time I started a new job (and then again when I felt I deserved a rise) and remember finding out by pure chance that I was earning significantly less, and then more (same woman, few years later – I got rises, because I asked, but she obviously hadn`t) than a colleague who almost did the same job.

It felt weird coming to Britain and seeing the salary already stated in the advert. My Scottish husband advised me not to question it – if it was written in the advert, it was non negotiable.

I fiercely disliked it, and I had loads of questions. So, did this mean that anybody could look up anybody`s earnings, and will this not inevitably lead to jealousy, comparison, stigma and “assessments” in work and in personal life, e.g. when looking for a prospective husband? Indeed I`m still finding the question “What do you do?” (for a living), and then “What does your husband do?” (I hate this question!! People ask this before they even ask his name or how long I`ve been with him), is posed far too quickly when meeting new people, and it is obvious what this is aiming at.

The longer I live here, though, the more I grew to like this transparency, for several reasons:

  • I don`t need to waste my or anyone else`s time applying for jobs who won`t pay as much as I want to earn.
  • Where adverts are brief, the salary gives a good indication on what level of skills they are looking for.
  • I`m reassured that my salary will not depend on my negotiation skills or gender, and that the male colleague doing the same work as me will earn exactly the same as me.
  • If a mistake is made with people`s pay, the member of staff will become aware of this, because colleagues openly speak about their wage slips, and can then be rectified.
  • Pressure on employers to pay a good, or at least not extremely low, wage, if they want to attract good people (and press)
  • People are more accountable, particularly those with a higher salary, because others know what they earn and expect them to really “earn”** this.

** Note: in German language, the word for “to deserve” and “to earn” is the same – could this be why we are more private about the matter, because there`s more emotional meaning just to the word?

  • The issue of women who only want to marry rich men seems a bit tricky. Instinctively, I dislike like the thought of sussing out each other`s finances at dating stage, but what if this is really important to someone (and I know people to whom it is)? It seems rude to reject someone based on their finances, but if this was me, and you would substitute “lack of wealth” with “strong desire for children”, I would like to know early and say that I may not be the one, rather than splitting over it later on. Or am I wrong here?
4 thoughts on “About Salary Transparency in Britain

    • culbia says:

      Is it a deficit, or just a different attitude? Both have pros and cons, but while I dislike there being yet another thing we compare and judge each other on, I do like this open-ness for all stated reasons (and, on the whole, better). And I do know of a very acute scenario 4 in my own surroundings.You wouldnt know in Germany if you were paid a totally inappropriate amount, compared to your colleagues, as noone discloses what they`re earning.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Streets of Nuremberg says:

        The missing transparency is the reason that in Germany the current administration is changing the legislation that each employee in companies >200 headcount is entitled to know what everyone doing the same work is earning. That at least a step towards more justice, especially between the genders.

        Like

        • culbia says:

          Oh, I didn`t know that about the headcount. When I was still working in Germany, it was almost a sackable offence to even discuss whether you had a Christmas gratification.

          Anyway, the discrepancies continues, unfortunately, where women just don`t get promoted so easily… also in Britain.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

