Lifestyle Post: on Dying one`s Hair

I`m a dyed red head. My real colour looks like this

July 2013-Dec 2013 138

and this (profile pic from January 2016)

2016-01-11_10-25-06

is courtsey to that:

2 packets, 3 weeks apart, were necessary to get me to this colour, but after that, the result was indeed pretty close to the model on the package. Typically, I had to re-apply every 5 weeks or so if I wanted no roots at all, but I ended up regretting this over-processing in the past and eventually died it back to my natural colour.

Last year though, I succumbed to red again. While testing how long I could go without re-dying, I discovered this product here (available at Amazon in various colours):

It is non permanent and ammonia free, and it`s designed for reviving dyed hair (does not cover roots!!) between “proper” colours to avoid it becoming dull and lacklustre. Indeed, my hair looked freshly done again – the colour is rich and glossy, and it  just washes out over time, lasting 2-3 weeks depending on my tolerance levels.

089

It`s now about a year and a half since I last dyed, and while I did have to go through a really difficult stage of getting used to the every growing and increasingly noticeable roots, those have now grown down to giving a nice dip-dye effect, which just does not seem to go out of fashion at the moment.

image

After I was seriously considering going back to dark, I now feel I found the perfect compromise, particularly as red is also notorious for being difficult to change. What I particularly like is that the roots are now long enough for all to look dark again when I wear my hair up:

Bianca Culbert

So I can have both and don`t need to decide!

I now moved on to another shade of red, which is this semi permanent one:

This says it lasts for a month, but I re-dye after three weeks, when I usually find it`s getting a bit dull. I only dye the bits that have been processed before and leave the roots alone –  a perfect compromise between staying red and not overprocessing. The fact that I managed to grow my hair so much in one year (between the second and the following picture) proves that neither of those products have caused any damage – and the colour is pretty cool, too:

image

PS: I do not receive sponsorship from the manufacturers of either of the mentioned products

18 thoughts on “Lifestyle Post: on Dying one`s Hair

    • culbia says:

      I like both and have swapped a few times. When I`m dark and see photos of myself where I was red, I plan my next red, and when I`m red and see photos of me dark, I`m toying with the idea of dying myself back. Same when I`ve got too much root – I only need to scrape my hair back, and I look dark again, and I honestly like them both equally. My husband however adores the red, properly adores it, so I want to keep it till at least after his retirement party.

      Liked by 3 people

        • culbia says:

          I`m sure you`ll get the product elsewhere, too, but Sally is where I`ve got it – I used to buy another product there, same thing but different brand (Fudge), but they don`t do that any more, so the sales assistant recommended this. It`s better value, because the Fudge stuff was only available in portion packs for £ 2.59, and those bottles for sure contain more than four portions.

          Like

          • Felicitas Träumer says:

            You do, you even get it on amazon (yep, obsessed with researching those things). BUT Sally’s is cheaper. And hopefully a nicer shopping experience. I work close to one, so I’ll probably pop in the next couple of days :). *whistleshappily*

            Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      Ich glaube jedem steht seine Naturfarbe – die Natur macht uns schon so dass Haut, Haare und Augen alle zusammen passen. Alles andere ist dann Geschmack, Mode, Experimente… Ich kann alle Rot- und Brauntoene, Aubergine war auch nicht so schlecht, aber blond und tiefschwarz, das geht an mir ueberhaupt nicht (obwohl ich eigentlich so gern mal schwarze Haare haette…)

      Like

  1. dorianhunter says:

    Mir gefällt das Rot seeehr gut. Bin überhaupt ein absoluter Fan von roter Haarfarbe *smiles*.
    Bis vor etwa anderthalb Jahren habe ich meine Haare auch selbst gefärbt, allermeistens in einem Rot-Ton. Da ich aber seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt völlig ergraut bin (Tjo, das ist wohl genetisch bedingt), sah das am Ansatz irgendwann nicht mehr wirklich gut aus. Außerdem wollte ich endlich mal ein schönes helles Rot. Deshalb hab mir letztes Jahr einmal die Farbe herausziehen und anschließend in der helleren Wunschfarbe färben lassen. Seitdem ist es etwas heller als deines auf deinem Profilfoto, und ich lasse es nur noch beim Friseur färben. Das muss dann alle acht Wochen sein, sonst ist der Ansatz zu grau. Meine Friseurin sagt, je heller die Farbe, desto weniger sieht man den Ansatz. Aber zu blond konnte ich mich nicht entscheiden. Vielleicht probiere ich’s ja irgendwann mal aus. Aber eigentlich liebe ich die rötliche Farbe heiß und innig *g*

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Wenn ich graue Haare habe dann krieg ich ganz ritzrote Haare *ohne* Bleiche, weil ich ja dann dunkler faerbe anstatt heller! Dann kann ich alles haben was ich will, weil dunker faerben nie so schaedlich ist! 😀

      Like

      • dorianhunter says:

        Ja, das ist zwar im Prinzip richtig, aber graue Haare abzudecken ist auch schwieriger. Eine Mischung aus Naturfarbe und der gewünschten Farbe ist da angesagt, sonst werden die Haare lila statt rot. So hat’s mir jedenfalls meine Friseurin gesagt, und das habe ich beim Selbstfärben auch am Ansatz gemerkt .
        Äh….mal Frage zwischendurch: Wie kann ich denn hier so einen Smiley machen? Das hab ich noch nicht herausgefunden.

        Like

        • culbia says:

          Ach deshalb haben manche aeltere Frauen lila Haare? Ich wusste das nicht dass man da die alte Naturfarbe noch mitbenutzen muss, ich dachte man hat mit grau praktisch gar keine eigene Haarfarbe mehr und kann alles nutzen… Wieder was gelernt.
          Den Smiley mache ich mit Symbolen : – ) ohne Leerzeichen 🙂

          Like

  2. blogbellona says:

    ist das so eine art haarkur? ich hab sowas vom friseur für 25€, hält aber auch lange, weil ich das nicht oft nehme. so kann ich zumindest den friseurbesuch immer noch um ein paar tage hinauszögern. die kur ist knallrot und wird normal ab und zu nach dem haarewaschen benutzt. dann leuchtet der kopp wieder! 😀

    (ich mag dich mit roten haaren am liebsten. ich mag einfach rote haare.)

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Es ist eine pflegende Toenung die bei jeden 2. Tag waschen etwa eine Woche leuchtet und nach 1.5 Wochen wiederholt werden will. Ich will halt auch nicht alle 6 Wochen bleichen. Mittlerweile muss ich aber wieder, weil allmaehlich gehn die Wurzeln wirklich nicht mehr. Wenn ich die Haare zurueck binde bin ich glatt wieder dunkelhaarig, hab also momentan beides… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

