On Social Media and Holiday Snaps

I` m deliberately spacing the Israel photos out, and neither did I post many elsewhere. Somehow, I didn `t feel the need, even though it was such a special trip. I can` t quite put my finger onto why this is. Maybe because I split from most of the people who themselves post at least half a dozen pics per day, maybe because I thought more about my use of it since I took time out last year (BTW, I`m considering to do it again – even though I went back, I thought it was so good for me!) – but maybe, they` re simply too special to me to be thrown in between all the other stuff that`s on facebook.

I had a really lovely experience with a close friend of mine, which really underpinned the last thought. This friend passionately opposes social media and never ceases to impress me regarding how she still maintains relationships around the globe.

Last year, she went on a special trip to South America. When I asked her for pictures, she said she didn`t want to spoil her holiday trying to find a computer, chose photos and then reply to replies. “When I come back,” she said, “I` ll have you all round for coffee, and then we can look at them together, and I` ll tell you all about it!” And that` s what we did, and it was lovely.

Three days after I returned from Israel, she phoned me: She was dying to see my pictures. If she could come round for a cup of tea. Like, now. She came, and we were pouring over the tablet for 2 hours. We didn `t even manage 3 days worth, because she had so many questions and about photo.

“I` m so glad, I` m not on facebook,” she said when she left. “I wouldn`t have wanted to see them there. I wanted you to be there when I see them and really talk about them rather than just scroll down a tiny screen.”

I said they aren`t on facebook, just four or five of them, and then she said she now felt even more privileged.

I thought about this for quite a while. None of those, who are on facebook, came round to see my pictures or hear the details. They` ve seen five pictures and the video of Masada, all without the stories. Those who aren` t on facebook have seen and heard about the whole trip.

Today`s photos show a magnificent sunset over the Holy City – probably one of the most overshared motives in the world, but I just can` t resist the allure of it either. I love nice architecture and interior design and clothes and things like that, but here` s some even more stunning beauty, and it`s all natural (no photosphop – just filters!) and not man made at all!

dscn4228.jpgdscn4217.jpgdscn4216.jpgdscn4229.jpg

4 thoughts on “On Social Media and Holiday Snaps

    • culbia says:

      Well, to be honest, I know how I react to other people`s holiday snaps unless they differ a bit from popular motives such as selfies by the pool, selfies with a drink and whole body pics in front of a famous building – I may click “like” to honour the effort, and then forget about them. I always try to hard to make mine a bit different, but when I`m scrolling through them afterwards, I often find them pretentious. Noone else makes so much effort for Facebook. Sweaty pool selfies will do for most. I think I differ in that I don`t want to show off my gorgeous self or the fact that I`m somewhere others are not, but I want to showcase my photography, and the best compliment for me would be “great pictures” rather than “looking good!” or “so jealous!”. You know what I mean? Facebook however is not a platform for photography; it`s a platform for the latter.

      Like

  1. Sarah says:

    It’s a hard thing really. Where I live it’s hard to connect physically with all my friends because everyone is so spread out so the only way I can share my adventures with people is via social media.. on the flip side – you really don’t get the same experience of sharing than you would face to face…

    Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      I`m the same – I have many friends who live quite far from me, and for them, facebook is better than nothing. But I also catch myself making do with facebook where I don`t have to, and that`s wrong…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

