Jerusalem: Temple Dome (Dome of the Rock) and Dress Codess

Today, I`m going to show you the photos I took of the breathtaking, and very important, Dome of the Rock.

I don`t usually spend much time photographing things that have been snapped and seen million times before, but this monument was so amazing, I don` t think any picture will ever give it justice:

studio_20160906_111508.jpgstudio_20160906_112759.jpgstudio_20160906_112854.jpgstudio_20160906_113338.jpgstudio_20160906_113155.jpgstudio_20160906_113018.jpgstudio_20160906_113617.jpgstudio_20160906_113550.jpgstudio_20160906_113522.jpgstudio_20160906_113235.jpgeyeemfiltered1473157013519.jpg

Unfortunately, you cannot get in, but it is hard to imagine that it can be even more stunning than on the outside. The whole bottom bit seems of solid marble, an the top half has been designed from what must be millions of small mosaic plates, with some beautiful writing right under the roof.

The square around the dome is huge and inhabited by at least two cats, there is a mosque (which is in use, and which I could look into) and some nice views over the city, as it is indeed located on a rock.

One thing I found rather embarrassing was that I was asked to cover up. Of course, I checked in advance and felt that I looked quite acceptable in my long dress that also covered shoulder and upper arms, but I was taken aside as soon as I arrived and send to a “clothing station” where I was, for a small fee, appropriately kitted out with an even longer and thicker skirt and a shawl. My own skirt, I was told by the men who were very obvously there to enforce the dress codes, was not opaque enough and still revealed my legs. I never felt so naked as I did when I was walking the walk of shame to the clothing station, and that feeling stayed with me all day.

It didn` t take me long to discover that I felt safer in more fabric on me in this city. I didn` t bring anything too revealing, anyway, but on my first day, I was wearing a short skirt and felt everyone was looking at me. I once even made a u-turn, because I felt I had all eyes on me (although noone ever said anything apart from the men at the temple dome). When I was wearing more fabric, on the contrary, I felt very pleasantly invisible – I could go whereever I want, not draw any attention to myself and merrily enjoy my day without having to be mindful about who I was speaking to.

I` m very much someone who likes to feel the sun on her skin and get a tan when on holiday, but experiencing such an environment first hand made me appreciate a lot more why women may chose to dress in a way that does not draw any attention to their bodies. And, contrary to my preconceptions, I was not getting too hot either 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Jerusalem: Temple Dome (Dome of the Rock) and Dress Codess

  1. blogbellona says:

    die farben sind richtig berauschend. das mit den klamotten…joa. ich bin da immer wie ein rebellischer teenie. dann will ich das auch nicht, wenn ich nicht sein kann wie ich will. 😉

    (ich habe tatsächlich mit 16 auf klassenfahrt nicht den vatikan von innen gesehen, weil ich mich geweigert habe, meine schultern mit zeitungspapier zu bedecken. fand ich dämlich, hab ich mit meinen freundinnen lieber draußen gechillt… ist mir ganz schön was entgangen, denke ich. ;))

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Ich akzeptiere die Vorschriften vollkommen (immerhin ist es ein muslimisches Gebaeude), aber als ich anseite gerufen wurde, obwohl ich dachte ich hab es richtig gemacht, da hab ich mich schon geniert. Der sagte tatsaechlich “Ich kann Deine Beine sehn”. Und anschliessend musste ich noch ca 100m laufen, an diesem hochheiigen Ort, bis ich sie bedecken konnte.

      Ich wette als Teenager ist das sicher “cool” sozusagen eine Besichtigung zu “schwaenzen” um draussen zu schwatzen 🙂

      Like

  2. weltbeobachterin says:

    wunderschöne Fotos! Meine Mutter fand den Felsendom auch sehr faszinierend.
    das mit der Kleidung finde ich auch interessant. Wie ich in Zypern war und in der Türkei, habe ich bei Moscheebesuchen auch immer einen Schal mitgehabt um mein Haar zu bedecken.

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Kopf waren okay, ich war nie ohne Sonnenhut unterwegs. Interessant fand ich wie viel *besser* (da weniger auffaellig) ich mich gefuehlt habe, wenn ich “bescheiden” gekleidet war.
      Was sie mir an dem Tempeldom gegeben haben war so unansehnlich, dass ich mich vor den Musliminnen in ihrem “echten” (und wie ich finde, oft sehr schoenen) Gewaendern, richtig geniert habe.

      Liked by 1 person

      • weltbeobachterin says:

        klar, werden sie keine Designerklamotten hergeben. Manchmal wenn ich junge Muslima sehe, denke ich wie hübsch sie sind nur schade, dass man das wahrscheinlich schöne dichte Haar nicht sieht

        Like

  3. gine42 says:

    Der Felsendom war auch eines meiner Lieblingsgebäude von Jerusalem. Er leuchtet so wunderbar vom Ölberg! Du hattest ja das perfekte Fotowetter, mit diesem passenden blauen Himmel dazu! 😀

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Der ist der absolute Hammer!!! Auf dem Oelberg war nich nur abends – ich wollte immer nochmal tagsueber drauf, aber es war so heiss, dass ich mich nicht zu dem 40 min. Fussmarsch aufraffen konnte… Sicher hab ich was verpasst, aber ich hab ja stattdessen andere Sachen gemacht. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

