Kindle vs Paperback

How do you prefer to read?

I`m torn between Kindle and paper. When it first came out, I thought I`d never buy a Kindle, but eventually, I did, and from then on bought everything I could electronically (apart from cookery and other picture books).

Over the last two or three years however, I`m slowly going the other way again. I often find myself paying more for an e-book than a second hand paperback, plus, I cannot pass it on to other people. Graphics, particularly those with small font, are often illegible on Kindle, and while it`s usually (but not always – see picture ` below) better on my tablet, I do not want to add yet another thing to do on a computer screen.

Anyway – I started to buy paperbacks again. Although buying from Amazon, I often have to forego the buzz of instant gratification, £2.81 (1p for the book plus £ 2.80 p&p) compared to the £4.99 Kindle edition is hard to beat. Slowly, my shelves are starting to fill up again after I worked so hard to downsize my book collection.

Why, by the way, is it so hard for some people to part from their books?

I`m starting to prefer paperback again, although I still wouldn`t want to dispense with my Kindle – I like the portability, the ease of buying foreign without paying postage and waiting for ages, and yes, very often the instant gratification. At first, I also said I like the space on my shelves, but I think we now have a library that`s quite reasonable, and I have to agree with my husband that books displayed on a shelf look nice (just not as many as we once had).

Samples from my Kindle and the same pages on my tablet:

wpid-20150813_183320.jpgwpid-20150813_185711.jpg

wpid-20150813_185314.jpgwpid-20150813_185309.jpg

wpid-20150813_183449.jpgwpid-20150813_185620.jpg

19 thoughts on “Kindle vs Paperback

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    I own the Nook, but lately I’ve been downloading books to my tablet. I prefer digital because I like taking advantage of free ebooks!

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Do you know a way to tell a really good free e-book?

      I never read any I liked apart from some authors who promote their books by offering them for free for a limited time in exchange for a good review. I must admit, I haven`t looked for free e-books since ages…

      When I bought my tablet, this included a deal where I can get a choice of 10 free e-books every month, but it`s all stuff I don`t normally read, so I never actually downloaded one ever. I feel I`d be wasting time that I could spend reading something that interests me and that I find meaningful.

      Generally, I find Amazon Marketplace cheaper if I can get the book fir 1p + £2.80 p&p.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Howto$tuffYourPig says:

        Our local library is a great resource! The library is routinely getting in ebooks from bestselling authors and many come from the NY Times Bestseller list, so there is plenty of reading. I’m not sure what kind of reading you like to do. I’m quite boring because I read a lot about economics. I do like a few fiction authors. Lisa See has some great historical fictions reads. Have you read Shanghai Girls or Snowflower and the Secret Fan? I also liked Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Spendid Suns and The Kite Runner. All of those ebooks I found for free. 🙂

        Like

        • culbia says:

          You know what? I work right next door to a library and never go there! Silly, isn`t it? I also like economics, but more so psychology and social issues. Now and then a bit of fiction, but not much. I have read The Kite Runner, though, great book 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      I`m slowly going that way, too. I have the very first Kindle which is not like a computer screen, but it`s missing a lot of things I like i a book – the tactility and a nice design (depending on what kind of book it is), the fact that I can pass it on…

      Like

  2. twinkletoes says:

    I don’t think there’s a need to decide. I read both.

    My Kindle broke a few years back and I have issues with Amazon (precisely because of their bullying tactics , among other things), so I avoid buying anything there if I can help it. I have a Kindle app on my iPad to access the books I had already bought on Amazon. As I found out a few years ago, cancelling your Amazon account would have meant losing access to the books that you’ve bought and paid money for. Because, did you know?, you didn’t buy them, you borrowed them. For money. That’s true for all eBook providers, I believe, and it’s wrong! So, there’s another downside of eBooks.

    Having said that, they are convenient, you get them immediately, they’re light, no matter how thick the book is, and you can carry a whole library on holiday. It’s particularly handy if I want to get German books: much faster. With my iPad, I can even read in the dark – something I would have appreciated on a night flight from Hongkong years ago, when I was wide awake and bored.

    Having said all that, printed books have lovely advantages too: Like you say, you can pass them on, or pick them up cheap in a charity shop or on Amazon Marketplace. I am saving a lot of money since I started using the library. I know some libraries do eBooks as well now, but mine doesn’t (yet), so that’s another plus. I don’t think print is going to die out.

    I am quite happy with a combination of eBook and printed book. I use whichever I prefer at the time. Nobody’s forcing me to take sides. 🙂

    Like

    • culbia says:

      Oh – I didn`t realize that – that you lose all your e-books when you cancel your Amazon account. They`ll already be making a fortune on their e-books which are only marginally cheaper than a new paper copy but don`t entail selling something physical which they first have to buy themselves every single time they sell it on. As soon as you make an e-book, you can sell the same thing as often as you like at no extra cost but royalties, so they should be much, much cheaper than they are.

      I also use a combination, and I think I`ll keep doing so. I usually find myself letting the price decide and buy whichever version is cheaper (unless want something NOW or graphics are important).

      Like

  3. Book Guy Reviews says:

    Always paper. There’s a tactile experience in reading a tangible copy that is lost when that screen kicks up. This is great! Thanks for sharing!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    Like

  4. teenbookreviewer33 says:

    I definitely prefer paper. With an e book, you can’t tell how far through the book/chapter you have got through that easily. Of course, it has the % but it just looks and feels different. I also find paper books more enjoyable to read from. Just an opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      I agree about your comment with the chapters, but if applicable, you can always skip back to the index to see where your chapter will end.

      I read a lot of non fiction, and with Kindle, I like that when I highlight bits, they automatically get collected in one other place. Re-reading only the most important bits of a book becomes extremely easy that way.

      Like

      • teenbookreviewer33 says:

        I can understand where you are coming from. I guess it’s also lighter and smaller to carry. There’s positives and negatives about both. I guess it will just be something that not everyone will agree on.

        Like

        • culbia says:

          Overall, I prefer paperback – definitely with pictures and graphics, and fiction, I usually only read once and want to be able to pass on.

          However, I also still buy Kindle, e.g. where I want to read something on holidays or buses, or where a book from my home country (Germany – I live in the UK) would be too expensive if I added EUR 6.oo postage.

          For a long while, I bought everything on Kindle, but that was when I really had too many books on my shelves and didnt want to add another one…

          Like

  5. Wendy says:

    You know, I am a “very early” Kindle user – at a time it was not available in Germany, so I ´ve got one from the US. And I fell in love immediatly. You know – lot´s of books, lot´s of travelling…baggage allowance..

    I have some issues with amazons “unusal” ebook-format azw resp. mobi. Most german libraries do not offer ebooks in this format.

    Now I have a 2. ebookreader, a Tolino, which is working with epub. So I am able to borrow ebooks from our local library. I am also on a few mailing list, some send downloadlinks for free ebooks once a week. I am not interested in each and every book, but sometimes there are nice offers. Thalia, the bookseller, has a large (similar as amazon) section with thousends of free ebooks, many of them are not worth a cent – but it is up to you to decide, which one you want to download….

    Like

    • culbia says:

      A monthly selection of free Kindle e-books came with my (Samsung) Tablet for, I think, 6 months. To be honest, I stopped even looking after two, as it was always the kind of books I don`t read…. Ach well, this was not the selling point…

      Like

  6. weltbeobachterin says:

    I really love Paperback – I can give it to others and it feels more real like a download.
    but my sister got a kindle and she is very happy with it. So I think a kindle can be useful – i think just on journeys it is easier to handle as a suitcase full of books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

