Coworkers and Facebook – Befriend or don`t Befriend?

Because we are chatting on WhatsApp, a co-worker is now being suggested as a friend on facebook.

Hrmpf. When I changed jobs I vowed not to befriend new colleagues on facebook. In my last office, this repeatedly led to mutual surveillance, peer pressure and jealousy. Several people were disciplined, and one was sacked for what she posted. I never felt less close to colleagues who were not on facebook (or didn`t connect to co-workers), but my relationship with those who were was, to varying degrees, more complicated.

Now, I`m already considering what I can and cannot write with my colleague reading. Moreover, she could be linked to others, who then get suggested to me and vice versa, and within no time at all, I`d be back to square one. I like my colleagues, but with most of them, I`m not interested in their personal lives. Once you connected on facebook, though, you`re expected to.

My relationship with this particular woman is nice as it is now. I can`t see facebook adding much. But if she sees and requests me, I couldn`t ignore her or worse, put her in her place by saying I won`t befriend co-workers. Actually, I think I could say to her that I don`t want to recreate the problems in my old office by feeling pressurised to befriend others as well, and then we could talk about it, and she could let me know what things are like, if she is at all part of it…

Once again, I find myself suffering facebook anxiety… 😦

 

 

7 thoughts on “Coworkers and Facebook – Befriend or don`t Befriend?

Leave a Reply

