Decluttering 2016 (day 2) – my smartphone

Yesterday, I cleared and packaged my mobile phone, for handing into the pawnbroker`s on Monday.

studio_20160101_201408.jpg

BRILLIANT phone, which I can wholeheartedly recommend, but as I started to use it less for internet (got myself a tablet) and more for telephoning, I became increasingly frustrated with its size.

A couple of days ago, I saw the S6 edge (which I always liked, but couldn`t justify the price), in the pawn brokers` window for an amazing price (scratch at the back, and locked to my network), so I bought it, and also had my Note 3 evaluated. And here, there was a really pleasant surprise:

  • Carphone Warehouse: offered £90.oo (if I buy a new phone from them)
  • Amazon: lowest selling price for used £158.oo (with their commission still to come off)
  • Pawnbroker: offered £135.oo (independent of me buying the other phone, actually)

Really, really pleased, and will definitely keep them in mind if I ever want to sell electronics again! And I used to think they are a service for people who are broke 🙂

Anyway, although I`m extatic about my own bargain, I also want to take this opportunity to recommend the Samsung Galaxy J5, which we found for my husband. His budget and requirements were much lower than mine, and I couldn`t believe it when I discovered this phone, which was launched in June 2015. I actually considered getting one for myself. For £169.00, you`ll get a 13MP camera, 5MP front camera with flash, same operating system, AMOLED screen and interface as S6, brilliant battery life. 8GB storage can be extended. He doesn`t use it for music and games, so can`t comment. Yet again, it requires its own charger, and if you care about appearances, you may prefer something more expensive looking. The back side in particular doesn`t look that substantial, but you`ll put a case around it, anyway. As hubby always says himself: “Cheap watch tells the same time.” Final note – I don`t get paid for this post, but genuinely adore the Galaxy range 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Decluttering 2016 (day 2) – my smartphone

    • culbia says:

      It’s from 2013, and I really loved it. When they introduced free WiFi on buses, though, I bought a tablet, so I no longer need such a large phone. It was just so cumbersome, although it used to be handy. They already said they’ll buy it, really easy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

