Redundancy – Part I

I`m highly likely going to be made redundant as per 31/12/15, and I have volunteered. This was a process rather than a decision, and I want to share it.

My parents have both instilled in me a big work ethic. Education, success and financial rewards were less important (although they would have been pleased), but you have to work, even when you`re ill, and when you`re on annual leave, you`ll have to work something else at home. Unemployment was unthinkeable for respectable people, unless you were a woman and chose to have a family instead.

I consider myself successful in my first job, and although I didn`t come to my current employer with promotion already in mind, I developed an, at times strong, hunger when people told me I could. I then fell out of favour, applied unsuccessfully six times, so I stopped applying and enjoyed having nice colleagues and easy work instead. Although I tried for a carefully selected few other jobs, I was never disappointed when those did not materialise – I had grown into a rather cosy comfort zone.

Every so often it occurred to me that I`d have to move eventually if I didn`t want to do the same thing until retirement, and it also occurred (and happened) that others moved on away from me, people who had held me back, because I was so attached to them. My work has always been dynamic and interesting in terms of the environment, and all those things distracted from the fact that it hasn`t added anything to my CV since 3 years or so.

We`ve known for a while that our employer needs to save a lot of money, and they`ve always been open about the fact that this would affect staffing and the way we work. For a while, I was wondering whether this was going to open up opportunities, but it then became clearer that the opposite will be the case.

I first started to think about the importance of work in general when a very beloved colleague resigned without a new job to go to. At the same time, my husband started to become serious about planning his retirement, and our financial advisor confirmed that we would be comfortable. Removing the need, the pressure, to earn a certain amount of money certainly opened up my mind before we were invited to apply for voluntary redundancy…

(to be continued)

16 thoughts on “Redundancy – Part I

  1. twinkletoes says:

    Go for it! I think I know exactly how you feel. I was facing the same decision: Stay put until retirement (just 17 years of “waiting for Friday” to go) or take the leap into the unknown. It’s only early days, I quit my job mid-August, but so far I haven’t regretted it one bit.

    Liked by 2 people

    • culbia says:

      I`m glad it worked out well. Not so long ago, it would have been unthinkeable for me to just quit my job – it was a process which taught me valuable lessons, which is why I want to blog about it publically. I`m rather fascinated by it myself, and altough I have been hot and cold about it (but don`t need to commit for another few weeks yet) my decision now stands confidently.

      Liked by 2 people

      • twinkletoes says:

        I know. It took me YEARS to get to a decision – but once I made it, I couldn’t wait to leave and there was no going back. For many years I loved my job, then I grew increasingly bored with it, but of course it offered security and good benefits. Eventually, that wasn’t enough anymore to keep me there.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Lilith says:

          So geht es mir auch gerade. Ich denke immer noch über Teilzeit nach, kann mich aber nicht entscheiden irgendwie und weiß auch gar nicht, ob das von der Firma aus geht.

          Like

          • twinkletoes says:

            Kannst du das nicht (unauffällig) rausfinden?

            Solche Entscheidungen brauchen Zeit. Aber ich habe gerade eben was gelesen, das kannst du ja mal ausprobieren. Wissenschaftlich erwiesen:

            Bei relativ unwichtigen Entscheidungen ist es am besten, das Pro und Kontra abzuwägen und sich dann zu entscheiden. Bei wichtigen Entscheidungen sind die Ergebnisse am besten, wenn man kurz darüber nachdenkt, dann etwas anderes macht, was den Kopf beschäftigt, z. B. Sudoku, Anagramme lösen, ein schwieriges Kreuzworträtsel … und dann eine Entscheidung trifft.

            Während das Bewusstsein wichtig damit beschäftigt ist, Rätsel zu lösen, erwägt das Unterbewusstsein die wichtige Entscheidung (ohne von dem doofen Bewusstsein abgelenkt zu werden). Die getroffene Entscheidung ist dann besser.

            Also, so stand das da in dem Buch …

            Like

          • culbia says:

            Wenn du nicht weisst ob das bei Deinem AG moeglich ist dann wuerde ich das auch als erstes heraus finden, denn wenn nicht, dann hat sich der Fall ja zumindest dort erledigt.

            Like

  2. Charis says:

    I think it’s a postive decision – you will get redundancy money and could tide over.
    What about the first job you applied for? It sounded so perfect, made especially for you … 😉

    Like

    • culbia says:

      JA!! Die Entscheidung steht felsenfest. Die Gruende werde ich weiter bloggen weil sie mir wichtig sind, aber es ist keine Konsultation mehr. Wenn ich zum Monatswechsel den Wisch kriege werde ich ihn sofort unterschreiben.

      Like

Leave a Reply

