Job Interview

I had a job interview yesterday – the first in three years. It`s pretty much the same thing that I`m already doing, although I considered that there was more room for progression with this other employer. Even though, I didn`t have the faintest idea re how to prepare and where to start, and I even caught myself self sabotaging by prioritising other things.

I was extremely nervous when I walked in (straight from my husband`s retirement presentation), and it did not start well.:The man in the middle looked at me over his glasses and shuffled his papers: “First of all, I need to clarify something,” he said slowly. I thought I had forgotten something important in my written application, but he slowly read out what I applied for. “Is that right?” I agreed, and there was silence. And I thought damn, they think there`s something wrong, that maybe I`ve fallen out with someone in my current job. “… and you see that as a progression?” he asked me later, and, everything contracting inside, I replied probably not yet, but I see more room for movement.

My interview was dreadful. I had prepared for questions I wasn`t asked, and I was asked questions that I was not prepared for. I gave an example of me making a mistake and someone else having to fix it, then talked about myself speeding and running into another car, and although this is a really good story to illustrate a particular thing, I left out the best part of it. Not good at all.

Something inside me however wasn`t quite as disappointed as I felt I should have been. Maybe the man was right, and the job was too samey – bit more money and better career prospects, shorter travel time but without my colleagues, whom I`d miss very sorely. It would definitely not add to my CV – the reason I want to leave my current job in the first place. It would have been handy, but it wasn`t what I really wanted.

Low and behold, I got a phone call today stating that I was unsuccessful. What surprised me, though, was that they really liked my interview and ranked me 4th out of 194 applications. And then she said they think I should go for something “much, much higher” than this post, for I`ve got good qualifications and good experience. And I discovered that I was delighted – delighted at being unsuccessful and delighted at this kind of feedback, which makes me feel no failure whatsoever. Opposite, in fact.

29 thoughts on “Job Interview

  1. Charis says:

    An experience, however … 😉
    “feedback, which makes me feel no failure whatsoever” – what do you mean by this?
    Your ‘value’ is undeniably very GOOD – whatever anyone says or estimates … !
    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you … 🙂

    Like

    • culbia says:

      What I mean is that it could have easily felt humiliating and a failure applying for a job that was so close to my own and be unsuccessful. The fact that I thought I gave a poor interview, and they thought it was good, surprised me.

      Liked by 1 person

        • culbia says:

          I`m already doing the job, just for someone else. I`ve done it for 5 years come February so yes, maybe it`s time to try to move up or at least go for something different. I couldn`t not have tried though, it`s closer to home, more money, and this organisation doesn`t need to cut staff like ours.

          Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      Ich weiss. Ich bin auch gar nicht traurig. Gestern war ich enttaeuscht – ich dachte ich haette ein schlechtes Interview gegeben und werde womoeglich nur schwierig woanders was finden. Dieses Feedback hat mich jetzt aufgebaut, und sie haben Recht – es war genau der gleiche Job, nur Geld und Reisezeit sind besser. Fuer meinen Lebenslauf haette diese Position nichts gewonnen, bloss den Scare-Faktor von der anderen Entscheidung genommen.

      Liked by 1 person

        • culbia says:

          Ich find das auch – so lange man das auch als Grund angibt und sich nicht unglaubwuerdig macht. Denn dann wird womoeglich wirklich geglaubt es sei im alten Job irgendwas schief gelaufen…

          Like

              • Lilith says:

                Ich kann Deine Gedanken gut nachvollziehen, Belly. Manchmal denke ich, wozu machste das alles?! Um noch mehr kaufen zu können? Was braucht man, um glücklich zu sein? Möglichst viel Luxus? Sicher nicht.

                Liked by 1 person

                • culbia says:

                  Du sprichst mir aus der Seele. Wir haben genug, und genug reicht. Wir haben doch noch nicht mal Kinder. Mein Mann hat eine gute Rente, und ich haette gern mehr Zeit. Mein Einkommen kompensiert mich nicht mehr fuer die langen Tage, das steigende Arbeitspensum, die steigenden Aggros (seit wir hier bei WP sind blogge ich es schon gar nicht mehr, aber es ist eher schlimmer geworden!!), und was ich an meinem Job mag verschwindet vor meinen Augen. Es wird sich veraendern, das hat schon angefangen, und *nur jetzt* kriege ich sogar eine Abfindung wenn ich gehe. Nur jetzt muss ich nicht erst was neues haben – nur jetzt kann ich sogar mal Pause machen. Die hatte ich noch NIE. Selbst wenn ich Urlaub habe dann immer weil ich was vorhabe.

                  Like

                  • Lilith says:

                    Dann ist das doch jetzt eine tolle Gelegenheit, das zu machen? Ich meine, alle Umstände sprechen dafür und Du wärst dumm, das nicht anzunehmen, wer weiß, was kommt. Und Du hattest die schönen Zeiten in Deinem Job, hast viel erlebt und die Menschen, die Dir da wichtig geworden sind, kannste ja “mitnehmen”.

                    Wir haben auch genug, verdienen beide gut und ich spiele mit dem Gedanken, auf Teilzeit zu gehen, ich möchte auch mehr Zeit haben, das ist nämlich mit Geld nicht aufzuwiegen.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • culbia says:

                      Eben. Wenn das Geld fehlt ist das natuerlich anders, aber wenn man doch genug hat – braucht man dann wirklich noch mehr, wenn man stattdessen mehr Zeit haben koennte? Man hat ja u. U. auch gar keine Zeit und Energie das alles auszugeben. Ich reise momentan 3 Stunden taeglich. Fuer einen durchschnittlich bezahlten Job ohne Aufstiegschancen. Wo immer mehr intrigiert wird und der mich immer weniger bespasst. Und jetzt bieten sie mir Geld dass ich weg gehe, eine Pause mache und mir dann was besseres suche.

                      Like

            • culbia says:

              Ich kenne welche die sich beworben haben, aber nicht in meinem Buero. Als die Abfindung erhoeht wurde, wurde gejammert, dann wurde jedoch auch das “Fenster” zum Bewerben wieder geoeffnet, aber ich weiss nicht ob diese Personen jetzt umgedacht haben. Was ausser mir noch keiner weiss ist dass mein Vera so gut wie bewilligt ist. Das erste Stadium ist bewaeltigt (das weiss jeder), das zweite schaffe ich auch (da geht es ums Geld), aber ich habe erst kuerzlich raus gefunden was das dritte und letzte Stadium ist. Es ist kein weiterer Test sondern ein Angebot an mich und meine Unterschrift. Und ich glaube die anderen warten darauf dass ich sozusagen vorteste, und ich glaube sie glauben auch nicht wirklich dass ich meinen Job einpacke nun da der andere nichts geworden ist.

              Like

              • Lilith says:

                Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass es ein komisches Gefühl ist, wenn sich diese Gemeinschaft, die Ihr ja habt, so nach und nach auflöst. Immerhin war das für Euche alle ja mehr als nur ein “Job”.

                Like

                • culbia says:

                  Wer wirklich wichtig ist bleibt in meinem Leben, denke ich. Es ist jetzt schon nicht mehr wie es war (und nein, es geht nicht nur um den Lieblingskollegen!!), aber das ging so schleichend dass man es einfach akzeptiert. Irgendwann sind alle weg (oder wir haben keine Zeit mehr fuereinander), und nur die Arbeit und die Aggros sind geblieben. Und dann denke ich shit, weisste noch, Weihnachten, da haetteste 8 Monatsgehaelter dafuer gekriegt dass Du gehst. Ja, 8 Monatsgehaelter, so viel zahlen sie jetzt. Netto. Weisste was ich meine? Finanzielles kann aus diesen Ueberlegungen ganz raus.

                  Like

                    • culbia says:

                      Der ist mitten auf seine Lebenskuenstlerfuesse gefallen mit seiner Entscheidung. Nach einem arbeitsfreien Sommer mit der Familie aus Kanada war er etwas knapp bei Kasse und nahm daher zunaechst zaehneknirschend einen Aushilfsjob bei unserem ureigenen AG. Da ist er bis heute, und naechstes Jahr geht er studieren. Dass er jetzt, 7 Monate spaeter, eine Abfindung haette kriegen koennen, zwickt, aber dann zuckte er mit den Schultern und meinte ich waere ja eh gegangen. Der aergert sich ueber sowas nicht lange.

                      Like

  2. Vic says:

    I think even bad interviews can be good. The bad interviews can teach you what you did wrong so that you can correct them the next time you have another one. I completely bombed on an interview I had a few years back for a company I already worked for. I was applying for a different position and knew the hiring manager. I thought I had the job and was was overly confident and didn’t prepare as well as I should have and froze up! It didn’t help that I had 6 different interviews in the span of two days! The hiring manager took me into her office and let me know I wasn’t getting hired and explained to me what I did wrong and what to do better in the future. That advice eventually led me to my next position!

    Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      I totally don`t mind about the interview. It was my first in 3 years, and the feedback was really constructive, something I can work on well. And – what I really wanted was something different. So why did I go for that position? Comfort zone. Which is exactly what I`m wanting to get out of. Once again, I needed pushed…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

