Facebook

Ever so often, I need to rant about the uselessess of facebook. For example, for keeping in touch.

If you think about how many people you know who are currently going through a tough time and how many of those are sharing this on facebook, you`ll probably find that there is none.

Your cousin is moving closer to her mum so she can help more with the children? Their father just left her, and she can no longer afford the mortgage. My colleague has bought a diamond ring? She was burgled and all her jewelry stolen, and when she finally got the money from the insurance, she decided to buy one thing that she could always wear on her body. My sister and I were posting party pictures until late on a school night? We had just given our dad the last rites that afternoon. Too many grinning selfies in pizza parlours? I was going through a tough time, and my friends abroad had asked for them because they wanted to see that I eat. And that`s just my own timeline.

There are a lot of people on my friends list who I rarely talk to other than facebook, but (and maybe because!) facebook gives me piece of mind that we won`t lose touch. As long as they still post, I don`t feel the need to phone or meet up with them, even if all they post is shares and check-ins. The really important stuff doesn`t go on facebook. One young girl is posting happy party pictures all the time, but it turned out that she has split from her boyfriend whom she hoped to marry.

I used to kid myself that I just have to check someone`s timeline if I want to see how they are doing, but I rarely do, and even if all it says is that they`re still alive with internet access. And if, ever so often, they like one of my pictures, all they say is that they haven`t unfollowed me yet and that the occasional click of a button is enough for them, too, those days.

Two close colleagues have left within a week of each other. One is on facebook, the other is not. Since they left, I spoke twice to the first (on facebook!!) and about ten times to the latter (whom I also saw). Because here, I have to make an effort. My closest friends are not on facebook (or never log in), and those are the ones I see most often and share most things with. Could this be because they`re not on facebook?

2 thoughts on “Facebook

  1. dorianhunter says:

    Hmm…I’ve never been on Facebook.In fact, I registered once in 2005, but I couldn’t find a single reason why I should use this account. I found it stupid and boring. I just couldn’t understand why I need such a place to talk to people that I alrady know . and can keep contact through email or telephone. Since I cancelled my account in 2005, Facebook is “no go” for me. I just skip this part of the internet….hehe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • culbia says:

      I wouldn`t want to do without it, tbh. That`s how many people now communicate, and if I wasn`t on it I`d miss out, particularly with friends abroad who I definitely wouldn`t see more if it wasn`t for facebook…

      I however think almost all the points against it are valid, too… it`s massively overrated, although unfortunately hard to get out of if *everybody* is communicating that way…

      Like

Leave a Reply

